Vijayawada, January 7

Along with the ruling Telugu Desam and Opposition party, all other parties are gearing up to contest the MLC elections in Andhra Pradesh State. The tenure of 22 MLCs is going to conclude soon. MLCs tenure is six years with 1/3 of them retiring every two years. this time MLCs of all the five wings are retiring.

These 22 MLCs include seven elected by MLAs, eight elected from local bodies, three elected for graduate constituencies, two from teaching constituencies and two nominated by the Governor. The service of these MLCs will conclude between March and May months. Legislative Council Chairman Chakrapani is also among them.


The Assembly sources said that elections will be held in February or March for the vacant seats. The Election Commission has already announced that elections for graduate and teacher posts would be held in March. The election schedule for the remaining posts is yet to be announced.

TDP may be further strengthened in Legislative Council with these elections. Of the seven seats under MLA quota, experts are predicting that TDP may win six seats. YSRCP may get that the remaining one seat.

There is stiff competition between ruling and opposition party in Kadapa and Nellore out of the eight seats under local bodies quota. TDP and Left party candidates are going to combat in graduate and teacher constituencies for the seats.

View More:

Many aspirants for TDP MLC seats