Lucknow, February 14

Countdown for the second phase of elections in 63 constituencies in Uttar Pradesh began. The constituencies in which elections will be held on February 15, are spread across 11 districts — Saharanpur, Moradabad, Bijnor, Steady, Rampur, Bareilly, Kheri, Badaun, Shahjahanpur, Amroha, and Pilibhit.

Prominent contestants like Azam Khan, Jitin Prasada are going to check their luck in the second phase of elections.

The Election Commission made elaborate arrangements for the polling. Paramilitary forces were deployed at sensitive areas and the UP State Election Commission made arrangements for live webcasting. The EC is expecting the voting percentage to increase in the second phase as 64 per cent polling took place in first phase.

Second Phase

With only one day left for the elections, all leaders made a whirlwind tour in the State. UP Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav during his election campaigning in Moradabad, alleged that BJP has no clarity over its chief minister candidate in UP. He criticized the Centre that it has done nothing except giving promises.

Responding to Akhilesh’s comments, Prime Minister Narendra Modi said Samajwadi Party in UP is afraid of losing elections. He gave a call to the public to repeat the verdict which they gave during 2014 MP elections.

Congress national vice-president Rahul Gandhi alleged that Modi’s demonetisation drive was to help the rich in the society and did injustice to the poor, at a public meeting in Bijnor.

View More: