Hyderabad, January 28

Teacher MLC elections gained momentum in Mahbubnagar, Ranga Reddy and Hyderabad districts.

Prominent teachers associations have already announced their candidates and are busy in campaigning. Suspense over the ruling party Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) support is still continuing. There is no clarity whether the TRS will support the sitting MLC or field another candidate.

The Teacher MLC of Mahbubnagar, Ranga Reddy and Hyderabad districts, K Janardhan Reddy’s tenure will conclude with March 29. The Election Commission would release election notification in February.

There are above 23,000 voters of MLC elections in seven districts. Of this, majority voters are government teachers. PRTUTS union had announced sitting MLC Janardhan Reddy as its candidate, while TSUTF announced Manik Reddy as its candidate.

MLC Elections

 Harshavardhan Reddy as PRTUT candidate, AVN Reddy as STU candidate, Bhupathi Reddy as TPS candidate, Lakshmaiah as Bahujana Teachers Federation candidate, Vijay Kumar as BCTU candidate, Prabhakar Reddy as TUTF candidate, M Veerachary as Government Teachers Association candidate have been announced so far.

There are chances for more candidates to contest in the elections while some of the candidates already declared may withdraw from contest.

Teachers groups observed the MLC elections are between four to five associations only. All associations are already making all their efforts to woo the voters and making rounds to schools. They are criticizing government’s anti-educational policies during meetings and requesting their votes.

Educationists observed that the main contest would be between TSUTF, PRTUT, PRTUTS, TPS and STU. The electioneering will gain momentum once the Election Commission issues notification.

View More:

TDP, BJP Busy in MLC Seat Adjustments