Hyderabad, February 9

The Election Commission on Monday announced the schedule of teachers constituencies MLC elections in Mahbubnagar, Ranga Reddy and Hyderabad.

With this, all teachers, candidates of major unions are busy in election campaigning. The tenure of teacher MLC of Mahbubnagar, Ranga Reddy and Hyderabad districts Katepalli Janardhan Reddy will conclude with March 29.

Of the total 15,053 votes, 11,883 votes were polled in 2011 elections. The number of voters in seven districts had increased to 21,520.

As per the old districts, there are 6,510 voters in Mahbubnagar district, 12,000 in Ranga Reddy and 3,010 voters in Hyderabad.


Eight candidates – sitting MLC Janardhan Reddy (PRTUTS), Harshavardhan Reddy (PRTUT), P Manik Reddy (TNUTF), AVN Reddy (STUTS), Bhupati Reddy (TPS), Adilakshmaiah (BTA), M Veerachary (government teachers association), S Vijay Kumar (BCTU) and Prabhakar Reddy (TUTF) – have so far announced their candidature.

TSUTF organized protests and agitations across the State on CPS pension scheme, service rules, pundit and PETs upgradation and other issues. It also succeeded in uniting all teachers unions.

The ruling TRS and Congress parties may announce their candidates in a day or two.

View More:

MLC Elections Gain Momentum